
Apple 20W USB-C Compact Power Adapter
This is a $10 flat wireless pad with a “20W Max” label. On a MagSafe iPhone it will charge at 7.5W regardless of that number, because it has no magnets. Whether it works reliably with your specific phone and case is, by owner reports, close to a coin flip.
Reviewed by the Tiny Tech Box team · Not a hands-on test — written from the manufacturer’s published specs, the live Amazon US listing and owner reviews · Last checked August 26, 2026
Version reviewed: 20W Max Wireless Charging Induction Pad, Black · ASIN B09123BHRG · Amazon US listing · no separate manufacturer model number is printed on the listing.
One-sentence verdict: Only worth it if you want a throwaway-priced flat pad and will gamble that the unit you get works with your phone and case — skip it if you need charging that reliably works through a case or with an iPhone.

A bare-bones flat pad — no magnets, no adapter, and no consistency between units.
Image source: Amazon.com
| Best for | People who want a throwaway-priced flat pad and are willing to gamble that the one they get works with their phone and case. |
| Not ideal for | Anyone who needs charging that reliably works through a case or with an iPhone. |
| Current price | $9.99 on Amazon |
| Price checked | August 26, 2026 |
| Version reviewed | 20W flat wireless charging pad · Black · ASIN B09123BHRG · Amazon US |
A thin black disc with a short cable and a status light. There is nothing to it, which is fine, except that the fundamentals — coil alignment, case tolerance, consistent output — are exactly what owners report going wrong.
Plug it into any USB adapter you own and set the phone on top, centred. There is no magnet to help you find the coil, so misplacement is common.
Wattage, heat and placement tolerance are the measures. Wattage to an iPhone is 7.5W at best regardless of the label. Placement tolerance is poor without magnets. And the biggest issue is simply whether it charges at all through a case — for a lot of owners, it does not.
Works with:
Not compatible:
No warranty and no brand. Some units work for a long time; many do not work well from the start. Treat it as disposable.
At $9.99 on Amazon (checked August 26, 2026), the price is low enough that a failure is annoying rather than expensive.
But value depends on it working, and the odds are not great: its 3.9-star average and 2.8 overall score reflect a product that fails a meaningful fraction of buyers. Spending $18–$20 on an Anker 313 or a branded MagSafe puck buys reliability that this does not. We would only pay up to about $8 for this, as a gamble.
3.9 ★ from 9,559 Amazon ratings · price & rating checked August 26, 2026
Price and availability may change after the date shown.
| Product | Best for | Key advantage | Main drawback | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20W Wireless Charging Pad (this charger) | The cheapest possible wireless pad | About $10; thin and light | Frequently does not work, especially through a case | $9.99 |
| Anker 313 Wireless Charger Pad | A cheap pad that actually works | Brand, 18-month warranty, charges through most cases | Still only 7.5W for iPhone; no adapter | $18.99 |
| Apple MagSafe Charger (2 m) | Reliable magnetic charging | Guaranteed 15W, aligns itself | Four times the price; no adapter | $39.99 |
Spending an extra $8–$10 on an Anker 313 buys a pad that reliably charges through a case and has a warranty. That is the better use of the money. Prices are Amazon figures from August 26, 2026.
At $10 this pad is priced as a throwaway, and for some owners it quietly does the job for years.
For too many others it does not work at all, or only works with the case removed, and there is no magnet to help with alignment, no adapter in the box, no brand and no warranty. Its 2.8 overall score is the honest read: a product that fails a meaningful fraction of buyers. Spend $8–$10 more on an Anker 313 and get a pad that works through a case and is covered if it fails.
| Category | Score |
|---|---|
| Design — thin and inoffensive, but the fundamentals are inconsistent | 3 / 5 |
| Value — about $10, cheap enough that a failure only stings a little | 3.5 / 5 |
| Performance — 7.5W at best for iPhone; case charging is unreliable | 2.5 / 5 |
| Build & Durability — many units underperform from new; no warranty | 2.5 / 5 |
| Compatibility & Ease of Use — no magnets, no adapter, case-dependent | 2.5 / 5 |
| Overall | 2.8 / 5 · Average |
Each aspect is scored from 1 to 5. The overall score is the average of the five, shown to one decimal place. Verdict bands: 4.5–5.0 Hell Yeah, 3.5–4.4 Would Buy, 2.5–3.4 Average, 1.0–2.4 Trash.
| Brand / line | Generic — 20W flat wireless charging pad |
| Type | Flat Qi pad (no magnets) |
| Certification | Not stated; not Qi2, not MagSafe |
| iPhone output | MagSafe iPhones are limited to 7.5W on a non-MagSafe Qi pad regardless of a “20W” label |
| Adapter | Not included |
| Cable | Short captive USB cable |
| Magnet strength | N/A |
| Dimensions | N/A |
| Weight | N/A |
| Colors | Black |
| Warranty | N/A |
| ASIN | B09123BHRG |
| Manufacturer | N/A (unbranded) |
This is an unbranded listing with limited verifiable specs. “N/A” means the value is not stated. A non-MagSafe Qi pad charges an iPhone at 7.5W, not 20W, whatever the box says.
No. A non-MagSafe Qi pad charges an iPhone at 7.5W maximum, no matter what the listing claims.
Often not. A common owner complaint is that it only charges with the case removed or with a very thin case.
No. You supply a USB power adapter.
No warranty is stated and there is no clear brand behind the listing.
Enough units work well to buoy the average, but a large share of owners report failures. The overall score of 2.8 weighs those in.
An Anker 313 for about $8–$10 more — it charges through cases reliably and has an 18-month warranty.
Every pick links to its full five-aspect review.




Disclosure: We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. This does not affect which products we recommend or how we score them.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Sources: Amazon product listing (ASIN B09123BHRG), read Aug 26, 2026 · listing description; Apple’s published 7.5W limit for non-MagSafe Qi charging of iPhone. This is an unbranded listing with limited verifiable specs; the rating, price and buyer feedback are from the live Amazon listing on the date shown.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, Tiny Tech Box earns from qualifying purchases. Recommendations are based on our own research and scoring, described in full on our How We Score page.